Skip to content


SAAF Logo in White

The Board of Directors, staff, and volunteer committee members have diverse backgrounds ethnically, economically, and racially, and include people living with HIV/AIDS. SAAF’s charter requires that people with HIV/AIDS and people who are low-income are part of the Board. The Board of Directors, with continuing representation from the original Tucson AIDS service organizations, includes financial, medical, and social service professionals; advocates; and community business leaders.

SAAF Board of Directors

Julia Wieland, President

Lauren Smith, President-Elect

Scott Koenig, Treasurer

Melissa Vito, Secretary

Fred Ronstadt, Chair

SAAF Directors

David Elder
SW Regional Vice President, RAYPRIDE Employee Resource Group – Raytheon

Cynthia Garcia
VP of Energy Delivery – TEP

Joel Isais
Pharmacist – El Rio Health – Cherrybell

Scott Koenig
The University of Arizona Cooperative Extension / Arizona Center for Rural Leadership

Beth Meyerson
Research Professor Southwest Institute for Research on Women – University of Arizona

Joe Trejo
Community Volunteer

Melissa Vito
Consultant and Vice-President of Academic Innovation – UT San Antonio

Brian Williams
Military Education Instructor – United States Space Force

Beth Frantz, ex officio
Chief Executive Officer – SAAF

Interested in Serving on the SAAF Board?

The Southern Arizona AIDS Foundation is looking for dedicated individuals interested in serving on their Board of Directors.  The mission of SAAF is to promote health, well-being, and social justice for those living with HIV, LGBTQ+ individuals, and communities marginalized by society.  SAAF is an organization with cross-goal strategic priorities, mission driven planning and budget processes, clean annual audits and a strong management team.  For more information, please call (520) 547-6095, or email Erik Simonson, Executive Assistant,